Search This Blog

Bushy Park brings Leinster Primary and Secondary leagues to close

Most of the league leaders going into the final event of the Leinster Schools Orienteering League (Post Primary) in Bushy Park, Terenure, Dublin pulled off  good results to win their category
outright.  Whilst Ciara Hogan (Castleknock CC) and Abdallah Balasmeh (St Killians CS Bray) had an excellent run in 1st Yr Girls and 5th/6th Yr Boys (A), respectively, it was their first time win and not enough to take the league win.

5th/6th Yr Boys: 1 Abdallah Balasmeh (St Kilians Bray) ; 2 Jessie Lopez II (St Kilians)  3 Aaron Kelly (St Kilians)
TY Boys: 1 Peter Mullan (St Kierans College Kilkenny) ; 2 Lorcan Whelan (St Kierans) ; 3 Paul O'Neill (Castleknock)
2nd/3rd Yr Boys: 1 Sean Nagle (Castleknock); 2. Shaun Mealia  (Castleknock CC); 3 Elliot Owen Griffiths (Wilsons Hospital Multyfarnham)
1st Yr Boys: 1 Henry Beadle (Wilsons Hospital); 2 Niall Harrington (Castleknock); 3 Ben Fleming & Patrick Mooney (Castleknock)  
5th/6th Yr Boys (B) 1 Francisco Gimenez (Wilsons Hospital); 2 Pablo Font (Wilsons Hospital) ; 3 Galo Berrini (Wilsons Hospital)
5th/6th Yr Girls (A) 1 Arianna Harris (Wilsons Hospital); 2 Katie Brown & Isobel Bohan (Castleknock); 3 Claudine Murphy (St Kilians)

TY Girls  1 Aoife Donaghy (St Dominics College Cabra); 2 Aoife Smith (Castleknock); 3 Neringa Dzidolikaite & Rachel Downey (St Kilians) 
2nd/3rd Yr Girls (A) 1 Molly Brown (Castleknock); 2 Aine McGuinness (Castleknock); 3 Aoife
Lally (Castleknock)
1st Yr Girls: 1 Ciara Hogan (Castleknock); 2 Ciara Golden (Castleknock); 3 Rachel Denner & Karina Lepureanu (Castleknock)
5th/6th Yr Girls (B) 1 Hannah Muir & Ali Deac (Castleknock)

Check out the RTE player for a great piece on the Primary schools event here. Just 8 secs separated 2nd and 3rd place in 6th Class Boys category in the exciting final event in the Leinster Schools Primary Orienteering League, which took place in Bushy Park resulting in Joseph
Butterfield (Scoil Mhuire BNS Marino) pipping Sam Hawes (Skryne NS) by the tightest margin to take the league title, whilst Ellie Murphy (Skryne NS) put in yet another winning performance, to easily take the 5th Class Girls title.
6th Class Boys 1 Ryan Mealia & Ben Moran Jackson (St Annes NS Shankill); 2 Joseph Butterfield (Scoil Mhuire Marino); 3 Sam Hawes (Skryne NS)
5th Class Boys, 1 Hugh Turvey (St Fintans NS Sutton); 2 Vincent Walsh Giguere (St Pius X BNS nTerenure) ; 3 Darragh Sullivan & Reuben Tylak (Rathfarnham Parish NS)

6th Class Girls, 1 Cliodhna Donaghy (Mary Help of Christians NS Cabra); 2 Sarah Quinn (Tinahely NS); 3 Robyn Everard (Skryne)
5th Class Girls, 1 Ellie Murphy (Skryne); 2 Katie Cullen (Skryne); 3 Elle Walsh Giguere (St Pius X GNS Terenure)
Beginners,  1 Henry Horan (St Pius) 2 Rachel Simms (St Pius) ; 3 Sam Smalley & Steven Whitehead (Whitechurch NS Rathfarnham)