Search This Blog

Busy end to November

4 school events took place in 4 counties.
County Cork: Amidst torrential rain, CSOA held their second pre-Christmas league event at Fota Gardens. Patricia Hayes from St Mary's Mallow beat off stiff competition from Denise Hallahan, St Mary's Midleton and Ailbhe Callanan, Nagle Rice, Doneraile in the PJC girls. In the PJC Boys, Tim O'Sullivan and Jack Delaney, CBC Cork finished ahead of a large Nagle Rice contingent. The Nagle Rice trio of Eilish Murphy, Jade Byrne and Lynn O'Regan finished ahead in the 2nd/3rd year girls. Joshua O'Brien split the Midleton CBS pair of Daniel McDonnell and Simon Upton in the 2nd/3rd year boys. St Mary's Mallow had a clean sweep in the 1st year girls with Alice O'Sullivan, Paula Hickey and Abbey Buckley. Robert Mannix, CBC Cork saw off the strong challenge of Cathal Fitzgibbon and Shay Keane from Midleton CBS in the 1st year boys.No surprise in the 6th class girls where the Convent Primary, Mallow lead home with Amy Lynch, Ella McSweeney and Ailbhe Heffernan. It was a similar story in the 5th class girls with Orlaith Finn, Ailbhe Lynch and Sarah O'Malley. The 6th class boys was a ding dong battle between Darragh Hoare, Carrigtwohill, Stephen O'Hea, Clonakility and Eoghan Ferguson, Clonakilty. Darragh came out on top this time. The 5th class boys was won by Kuba Hofft, Carrigtwohill from the Killavullen pair of Seamus O'Mahony and Conor Shanahan 
    County Dublin: St Annes Park was the venue for the second Secondary league event in Leinster. In the 1st year girls, it was a clean sweep for Castleknock CC withNiamh Sheridan, Victoria Knox and Ciara Hogan. The first year boys was also one by Casteknock with Sean Tiong but he was followed home by Henry Beadle, Wilson's hospital, Multyfarnham and the St Killians, Bray pair of Michael Gillman and Eugene Berg. It was the same story in 2nd/3rd year boys where the Castleknock trio of Sean Nagle, Simon Ayres and Mark O'Connor edged out Ross Crowe of Wilson's Hospital. Molly Brown was significantly ahead of her class mates Cotryna Markovskyte, Ella MacParland and Aoife Lally in the 2nd/3rd year girls. In the TY girls (A), Aoife Donaghy, St Dominic's College, Cabra managed to split the Castelknock pair of Aoife Simm  and Jean O'Brien. In the boys equivalent, there was an easy win for Conall Whelan, St Kieran.s Kilkenny ahead of Paul O'Neill, Castleknock and his team mate, Peter Mullan. In the Senior girls, it was a win for Arianna Harris, Wilson's Hospital ahead of Sarah McGrath, St Killians and Lucy Masterson, St Killians. The Senior boys went to Luke Kearney, Castleknock from Aaron Kelly, St Killians and Jessie Lopez, St Killians.

    • County Kilkenny: Woodstock was the venue again for the TY students from High School Clonmel. 50 Ty students took part in a series of races to improve their overall standard. 

      County Waterford: Kilbarry amenity park in Waterford city was the venue for schools from the SE for another round of competitive training. Schools opt for one of the 4 regional events before Christmas. This time it was the turn of Secondary schools from as far afield as Enniscorthy, County Wexford and Dungarvan. 550 took part on a thankfully dry day. The 5th class boys section was won by the Templeorum (County Kilkenny) pairing of Conor Power and Eoin Butler ahead of the Ballygunner pairing of Daniel Kiely and Conor Goff. The 5th class girls was won by Ballygunnar with Clarissa and Sophie squeezing out Gwen and Clodagh in very fast times. Sheenagh and Sofia from St John of Gods were a close 3rd place. Butlerstown lead home in the 6th class boys with David Cheasty, Oliver McAllister, Scott Power and Daniel Kelly ahead of the Ballygunnar pairing of Sean and Dylan. Chloe McHugh and Mercy Onabajo were clear winners in the 6th class girls. They were followed home by Grace Power and Lillie Elliott from Faithlegg. The Gaelcholaiste Portlairge were the only 1st year students so were clear winners! Tomás Breathnach beat Ben Ó Ceallaigh and Callum Condon in the boys whilst Alan Ó Ciardhubháin (Boy?) won the girls section ahead of Katherine Ní Shuilleabháin and Phoebe Ó Ceallaigh. They were also the only school on 2nd/3rd year boys which was won by Lúc Ó Dúbhghaill, 4 seconds ahead of Elijah Nyangasi and Jack Ó Críodán. Emma Dewberry, Ursuline Waterford was a clear winner of the 2nd/3rd year girls from the Gaelcholaiste pair of Feena Ní Laoghaire and Cliodhna Fullam. The TY pairs course was dominated by CBS Enniscorthy. Padraig and Pierce were the clear winners from David and Joseph, and Jack and Damien. The best from Ard Scoil na NDeise, Dungarvan was Niamh and Kate in 4th place. Newtown were the only boys in the TY (A) section where Liam Sutherland got the better of Jimmy Ko and Daniel Owens. There was 11 seconds to spare for Lorna Aylward from Ursuline ahead of the Newtown pair of Anna Kent and Isabel Auld with Emma Galloway and Leona Quigley close behind.