Search This Blog

Souheast schools 2014

The Southeast schools orienteering competition was held at Carriganore WIT sports campus on 27th February with a massive 688 registered starts between Primary and Secondary schools. This would not have been possible without the fantastic support of Wato club members. Liz, Hugh, Veronica and Pat on registration and parking; Jeni, Debbie, Alan, Liisa and Norman on the pre-start and start; Jordan who helped me at Download; and the 7 Transition year students from Newtown school who helped as marshals and on pre-start.

The trend in 5th class Primary was towards pairs due to the inexperience of the pupils. In the individual 5th class girls, Jordan Pim beat the Waterpark duo of Chloe Brosnan and Clodagh Monaghan. Waterpark won gold ahead of Fenor and Danescastle.

A similar pattern was seen in the 5th class boys section with Waterpark again pipping Fenor and Danescastle.
Harry Belton from Waterpark won individual gold ahead of Eoghan Whelan (our Lady's Meadow, Durrow) and Shane Doyle (Fenor).

Heather Eoghan from Waterpark won the 6th class girls individual gold ahead of Poppy Walsh and Kristen Browne from St John of Gods, who won team gold. Waterpark won silver and Butlerstown won bronze.
In the 6th class boys, Waterpark narrowly beat Butlerstown and St Canices for team gold. Oisin Johnston from WNS won individual gold ahead of Christopher Kavanagh (BNS) and Korben Quilty (WNS).
The Templeorum pair of Diarmuid Flynn and Tony Walsh were the best 6th class pair.
Waterpark  won back the overall shield from Faithlegg N.S.

Eoghan and Conall Whelan being presented their shields
The main battle in the Secondary schools was between Kilkenny College and Newtown, Waterford.
The 1st year girls team of Caoimhe Lawless (2nd), Paloma Balado (3rd), Molly O'Shea and Erika Beyers won team gold ahead of the Kilkenny College team of Isabel Burke (1st individual), Leah Treacy, Jessica Foley and Robin Stevens.
Waterpark College at Carriganore
The 1st year boys went to Newtown with their team of Ted Johnson (who won individual gold by a massive 7 minutes), David Gahan (3rd), Gearoid Morgan O'Brien and Ben Johnson. Kilkenny College were 2nd team ( Gabriel Rigady 2nd, Andrew Ross, Craig Cantwell, and Luke Douglas) and Waterpark College were 3rd team (Cathal Moran, Mark Schneiders, Ben Power and Louis Sullivan).

There was another great battle in the 2nd/3rd year girls where the Ursuline narrowly beat Newtown. The Ursuline team was Ciara McCarthy (1st), Ciara Silby (3rd), Juliet Tosini and Sarah Forrest. Newtown were 2nd (Anna Kent 2nd, Isabel Auld, Jodie Giles and Zoe Mulligan) with Kilkenny College 3rd team home (Charlotte Cope, Sarah Gavin, Grace Donald and Hannah Collier).
Runners from St Kierans, Kilkenny
The 2nd/3rd year boys section was won by Conall Whelan from St Kierans, Kilkenny ahead of Robert Pim (NSW) and James Gaffney (NSW). Newtown won team gold with their other team members Jacob Pim and Harry Jephson. CBS High school, Clonmel won team silver (Ciarain O'Brien, Killian McHale, Sean Collacutt and Jack Walsh). Kilkenny College won team bronze (Sam Baker, Damien Griffith, Adam Lennon and Malik Onilenla).

By the narrowest of margins, Kilkenny College won team silver ahead of Newtown in the Senior girls section. Roisin O'Sullivan (1st), Aoife Botha (2nd) , Sarah Lawlor and Hilary Duke were the KCK representatives. The Newtown team was Kate Cafferky (3rd), Nicki Boyd, Stephanie Ebert and Triona Harvey.
The Senior boys team gold went to Newtown (Julius McBride 1st, Jonathan Pim 2nd, Mikhail Archangelsky 3rd and Cole Johnson) ahead of CBS High school, Clonmel (Anthony Tobin, Shane Keating, Isaac Hogan and Stewart Channon) and Gaelcholaiste Portlairge (Coill O Cootaigh, Evan O'Connor, Sam Moran and Paddy Dalton).