Search This Blog

Leinster Secondary Champs 2014

Challenging courses, both physically and technically, tested everyone at the Leinster Post Primary Schools Orienteering Championships held in Djouce Woods, Co. Wicklow.  Those who put in the physical effort and, more importantly, kept their focus throughout were rewarded.  John Quinless (Rockbrook Park) pipped Ciaran Kearns (Dunshaughlin CC) by just 28 secs to win 1st Year Boys category, while Ciaran's brother, Sean Kearns (Dunshaughlin CC), caught 2nd placed Derek Kosowicki (Youthreach) at the 5th control and went on to win the 5th/6th Year Boys (A) category by just under 5 mins.

5th/6th Yr Boys (A) 1 Sean Kearns (Dunshaughlin CC); 2 Derek Kosowicki (Youthreach); 3 John Egan (Rockbrook Park).  
TY Boys (A) 1 Jessie Lopez II (St Kilians CS Bray); 2 Evan Williams (St Kilians); 3 Abdallah Balasmeh (St Kilians) 
2nd/3rd Yr Boys (A) 1 Ruairi Long (Rockbrook); 2 Gavin Dooley (Rockbrook); 3 Conall Whelan (St Kierans College, Kilkenny).  
1st Yr Boys: 1 John Quinless (Rockbrook); 2 Ciaran Kearns (Dunshaughlin CC); 3 Eoghan Walsh (Rockbrook). 
5th/6th Yr Girls (A), 1 Sarah McGrath (St Kilians); 2 Katie Brown (Castleknock CC); 3 Sophie Mooney (St Kilians).  
TY Girls (A), 1 Arianna Harris (Wilsons Hospital Multyfarnham); 2 Niamh O'Neill (Castleknock); 3 Lucy Masterson (St Kilians).  
2nd/3rd Yr Girls (A) 1 Katie Kenny-Byrne (Castleknock); 2 Ailbhe Healy (Castleknock); 3 Rachel Armstrong (Castleknock) .  
1st Yr Girls : 1 Molly Brown (Castleknock); 2 Aine McGuinness (Castleknock); 3 Erin Connolly (St Kilians).