Search This Blog

Recent schools events

On the 20th and 21st, 1300 young people took to the parks of Doneraile, Kennedy Arboretum and Tymon to complete orienteering courses. Well done to all the teachers, organisers and clubs concerned.

The rescheduled Cork Primary School Championships took place on Wednesday February 20th  at Doneraile Park. Upwards of 500 school children took part from 14 schools across the county. Four competitive courses were on offe: Primary 5th Girls and Primary 5th Boys,Primary 6th Girls and Primary 6th Boys as well as a  non competitive pairs event which proved very popular. The results are already posted on the IOA website.
C.S.O.A. are very grateful to so many people for helping to make this a success. Thanks to all the pupils for taking part along with their teachers and helpers.
Special thanks to : Jim Callnan (Organiser in chief); Ted Lucey (Planner), John Power (Controls out and in and starts ), Susan O Donovan and Ann-Marie Lucey (Pre-Starts ), Jim O Sullivan (Starts and Finish ), Sharon Lucey (Downloads ), 2nd yr,3rd yr,T Y yr & 5th yr pupils (25)from Nagle Rice Secondary School (Registration, Starts ,Finish ,Tent and Stewarding ), Liam & Mary-Ann O Brien (Entries,Controls in and Results ), 67th Doneraile Cork Scouts for the Tent, Dave Ryall and his Staff at Doneraile Park, Brian Caffrey, O.P.W., Mary Griffin (First Aid and Photography), Nagle Rice Office Staff, and Nollaig Lillis (local press ).

Primary 5th Class Boys: 1. Niall Barrett (SNB Clonakilty); 2. Jack Conway (Clonakilty); Adam Hunt (Clonakilty)
Primary 5th Class Girls: 1. Abby Buckley (CP Mallow); 2. Paula Hickey (CP Mallow); 3. Kate O'Keeffe (Ballygown NS)
Primary 6th class Boys: 1. George Murphy (Bunscoil Chroist Ri); 2. Fionn Magnier (Kilavullen NS); 3. Joshua O'Brien (St Josephs Doneraile)
Primary 6th class Girls: 1. Shauna Murphy (CP Mallow); 2. Eimear Ahearne (CP Mallow); 3. Holly Thompson (CP Mallow)
Paits course: 1. Maxim and David (Chriost Ri); 2. Conor Corbett (Analeentha NS); 3. Odhran Sexton (Analeentha)

The Southeast Primary and Secondary schools took place at Kennedy Arboretum over the 20th and 21st February. A huge thanks from Planner Andrew Cox to all the members of Wato club (Nigel Pim, Jeni Pim, Norman Storey, Hugh Dobbs, Liz Dobbs, Ricky Hogan, members of Newtown school Transition Year plus David Doyle on work experience from WIT, Niamh and Heather on work experience from Ursuline Waterford. Thanks also to the staff at Kennedy Arboretum for their ongoing support for orienteering. Just under 500 pupils took part over the 2 days. Full results here. Faithlegg NS were the overall Primary shcool shield winners whilst Newtown Waterford retained the Secondary Boys shield and regained the Girls shield from Ursuline Waterford.
Senior Boys A: 1. Kaine de la Haye (Newtown, Waterford); 2. Geoff Graham/Joshua Thiele (NSW); 3. Barog Kennedy (NSW) Team: 1. Newtown; 2. CBS Clonmel
Senior Girls: 1. Denise O'Connor (Presentation, Waterford); 2. Katie Gurnee (NSW); 3. Sinead Doody (NSW)
Senior B Boys: 1. Victor Cerrada (NSW); 2. Darren Singh Hennessey (NSW)
Senior B Girls: 1. Heather O'Leary (Ursuline, Waterford); 2. Niamh Pearce (Ursuline)
2/3 Boys: 1. Robert Pim (NSW); 2. Jonathan Pim (NSW); 3. Ciaran Finnegan (NSW). Teams: 1. Newtown; 2. CBS Clonmel
2/3 girls: 1. Lorna Aylward (Ursuline, Waterford); Isa Power (Ursuline); 3. Katie Maguire (Ursuline). Teams: 1. Ursuline 2. Newtown
1st year Boys: 1. Jacob Pim (NSW); 2. Jack Collicutt (NSW) 3 Harry Jephson (NSW). Teams: 1. Newtown; 2. Kilkenny College
1st year Girls: 1. Sophie Thomas (Kilkenny College); 2. Alannah Clarke (KCK); 3. Evie Kiely (KCK). Teams: 1. Kilkenny College; 2. Ursuline ; 3. Newtown
2nd/3rd year B course: 1. Kevin Lyons (Colaiste Cois Suire, Mooncoin); 2. Cillian Doherty (CCS); Eddie Walsh (CCS)
Primary Boys 6th class: 1. John Monaghan (Faithlegg NS); 2. Conor Ryan (Butlerstown NS); 3. Jordan Power (Butlerstown); 4. Jamie Hennessey (Fenor NS). Teams: 1. Butlerstown  2. Waterpark 3, St Canices, Rosbercon 4. Fenor
Primary Boys 5th class: 1. Joshua Hewlett (Ballyhack NS); 2. Korben Quilty (Waterpark); 3. Cian Parnell (Waterpark)
Primary Girls 6th class: 1. Megan White (Ballyhack); 2. Molly Power (Ballyhack); 3. Emily Collum (Faithlegg); 4; Sarah Jane Walsh (Faithlegg). Teams: 1. Faithlegg  2. Ballyhack 3.St John of Gods; 4. Butlerstown; 5. St Canices;
Primary Girls 5th class: 1. Jordan Pim (Dunhill NS); 2. Ciara Walsh (Ballyhack); 3. Nawal Khan (Waterpark). Teams: 1. St John of Gods 2. Waterpark 3. Faithlegg; 4. Dunhill; 5. Ballyhack

The final event of the Leinster Primary Schools Orienteering League took place on the 20th  February in Tymon Park, Tallaght. Thanks to Mary Healy and her team for all their efforts.
Ciaran Kearns (Cannistown NS) and Conor Powderly (St Cholmcille NS, Skryne) battled it out once again, with Ciaran Kearns emerging as victor of both this event and the 6th Boys Class league.  However, the best result of the day goes to Zoe Tyner, who easily won her 5th Class Girls category, finishing a full 7mins ahead of anyone else but, perhaps luckily for Amy Wright (St Cholmcille NS, Skryne), this being Zoe's first league event, she didn't score enough league points to threaten Amy for the league title, which she won yesterday.
6th Class Boys: 1. Ciaran Kearns (Cannistown NS) ; 2. Conor Powderly (St Cholmcille NS, Skryne);  3. Leon Flanagan (Skryne)
5th Class Boys: 1. Eoghan Conway (Skryne);  .2 Peter Nolan & Alex O'Connor (Rathfarnham Parish NS); 3. Cameron Baird & Eoin Deevy (Kildare Place School, Ranelagh)
6th Class Girls : 1. Sarah Chipriani & Megan Cahill (St Fintan's NS, Sutton); 2.  Maeve Sullivan & Andrea Mills (Rathfarnham); 3 Sarah Kearney & Jacqueline McCarrick (St Fintan's)
5th Class Girls 1. Zoe Tyner (Home Education Network);  2 Enya Mak & Emma Smyth (Rathfarnham);  3. Alison Daly & Lily Morrissey (Kildare Place School)